Program Curriculum

Developmental Model of Recovery

Terence Gorski’s Developmental Model of Recovery (DMR) consists of six progressive stages—transition, stabilization, early recovery, middle recovery, late recovery, and maintenance. Each DMR stage has a primary focus. Having a primary focus for each stage doesn’t mean that other issues are ignored, but that emerging problems are dealt with in the context of the current stage of recovery.

Warning Signs of Relapse

In order to avoid a relapse into active addiction, people in recovery need to develop strong coping skills that enable them to use specific tactics to counter relapse triggers before they escalate. Coping skills allow people to recognize and respond correctly to relapse warning signs. Relapse warning signs are progressive. Once initiated, they can cascade like a row of falling dominos. They include denial, avoidance, confusion, depression, and loss of behavioral control. If recognized early enough and countered, relapse can frequently be avoided. 

Post-Acute Withdrawal Syndrome

After the initial acute withdrawal symptoms during detox, patients often experience what is known as post-acute withdrawal syndrome (PAWS). During this second stage of withdrawal, patients typically have fewer physical but more emotional and psychological withdrawal symptoms, including resurgent cravings. The most common PAWS symptoms are mood swings, anxiety, irritability, fatigue, low energy, difficulty concentrating, and disturbed sleep. 

Spirituality in Recovery

For many, spirituality seems far removed from science-based psychology and psychiatry, but many addiction professionals regard addiction as a disease with biological, psychological, social and spiritual aspects. Recovery can also be seen as an opportunity to re-examine core beliefs and start living life in a more meaningful way. 

Developing Sober Support Systems

Only you can do it but you cannot do it alone. M-IOP members in early recovery need a support system, a network of trusted members they can rely on when things get tough. In 12-Step facilitation, the central role in that system will be the sponsor. But it could also include meetings, religious communities, family members, and therapists.